Ricardo Berzoini is the new Brazilian Minister of Communications

berzoiniFrom January 1, Berzoini will replace Paul Bernardo in the Ministry of Communications, as announced on Monday (29) by Brazil’s Presidential Palace.

Born in Juiz de Fora, Minas Gerais, Ricardo Berzoini is a Member of the National Directory of the PT (Workers Party) and was part of the Political Council of president Dilma Rousseff’s re-election campaign, actively participating in meetings with her.

EUBrasil Association believes that the new Minister can create an opportunity to strengthen relations between Brazil and the European Union in the Telecommunications industry.

“We hope that the cooperation on Internet, Telecom and High Tech between Brazil and Europe with ‎Ricardo Berzoini and Günther Oettinger (European commissioner on Digital Economy & Society) will intensify. We should work more in important areas like big data, including smart cities, internet of things (IoT) and cloud services”, says Luigi Gambardella, president of EUBrasil.

The future Minister of Communications is part of the Cabinet in Rousseff’s government since March 2014, when he was a a Federal Deputy in the National Congress and was called to replace Ideli Salvatti in the Ministry of Institutional Relations – the Ministry in charge of liaising between the government and the parliamentarians. It was then a delicate moment for PT because there was dissatisfaction with the Government among lawmakers from the coalition parties.

Berzoini made ​​a career working in banks and first ran for political office in 1998 when he was elected Federal Deputy for PT in São Paulo. Under President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, Berzoini became Minister of Social Security in 2003 and a year later, in a cabinet reshuffle, went on to become Minister of Labour.

In 2005, he was elected for the general secretariat of the PT and, in October, for the presidency of the party.

Six more ministers

Brazil’s Presidential Palace also announced names of six other ministers on Monday, 29: Miguel Rossetto (General Secretary of the Presidency of the Republic), Patrus Ananias (Agricultural Development), Pepe Vargas (Institutional Relations), Carlos Gabas (Social Security), Gilberto Occhi (National Integration ), Antonio Carlos Rodrigues (Transports).