24 MEPs are now members of EUBrasil

Number of MEPs who are EUBrasil members increased to 24, from 16 at the end of August.

The most recent memberships were signed by Francisco Assis, president of Delegation for Relations with Mercosur, Carlos Zorrinho, vice-president of Delegation for Relations with Brazil, both from Portugal, and by Lambert Van Nistelrooij, from Netherlands, showing that the association is stronger and stronger every day.

After the May elections, EUBrasil’s members group was reinforced by the presence of MEPs who kept their seats: Hans van Baalen, Ivo Belet, Pilar Del Castillo Vera, Sergio G. Cofferati, Viorica Dăncilă, José Manuel Fernandes, Christofer Fjellner, Nathalie Griesbeck, Antonio López-Istúriz White, Nuno Melo, Gianni Pittella, Helmut Scholz and Renate Weber. Also by the immediate addition of new members: Ana Gomes, Jan Huitema and Viviane Reding.

MEPs Brando Benifei, Jörg Leichtfried and Lorenzo Cesa signed the membership in September. In addition, the president of the Committee on Culture and Education, Silvia Costa and the British MEP Jude Kirton-Darling joined the group in early October.

“This is certainly good news and we are convinced that the number of MEPs will increase in the coming weeks,” says the president of EUBrasil, Luigi Gambardella.