EUBrasil welcomes two new MEPs: Ana Gomes and Jan Huitema become members

NLMembers of the European Parliament Ana Gomes e Jan Huitema have become this month (July) members of EUBrasil. They are the first MEPs of the eighth term of the European Parliament – May election result – to join the group of parliamentarians associated to EUBrasil. The Association had 34 MEPs, 13 of whom were re-elected and confirmed their membership. With the two new members, the number of MEPs that are part of EUBrasil has reached 15.

Portuguese MEP Ana Gomes, from the Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European Parliament, and the Dutchman Jan Huitema, from the Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe, have both committed themselves to actively participate in the pursuits and initiatives of the association within their areas of specialties.

A career diplomat, Ana Gomes participates in the Subcommittee on Security and Defence in the European Parliament and is a specialist in Foreign Affairs, acting as an alternate member of the Commission related to this matter. Among other duties, she has been Coordinator of the Portuguese Delegation to the UN Security Council. In the European Parliament, the main areas covered by her include human rights, security and defence, international relations, gender and development.

As for the the young parliamentarian Jan Huitema, member of the Commission for Agriculture and Rural Development, he will lead activities related to agribusiness, one of the most important sectors for Brazil. In 2013, the Brazilian agribusiness exports reached US$ 99.97 billion, and of this total US$ 20.53 billion were exported to the European Union. As a bloc, the EU has the largest share in exports of Brazilian agribusiness (22.1%), and soybeans, coffee and forest products are the main items.

MEPs that are EUBrasil members actively participate in meetings, seminars, dinners, debates with representatives of European and Diplomatic institutions in Brussels, as well as of the production sectors, the media and the Brazilian and European academia. They contribute with their knowledge to the debate on the EU-Brazil strategic partnership in different areas.

Who is already part of the group of Parliamentarian Members of EUBrasil: Johannes Cornelis van Baalen, Ivo Belet, Pilar del Castillo Vera, Sergio Gaetano Cofferati, Vasilica Viorica Dăncilă, José Manuel Fernandes, Christofer Fjellner, Nathalie Griesbeck, Antonio López-Istúriz White, Nuno Melo, Gianni Pittella, Helmut Scholz, Renate Weber.

Please go to our website: